Ireland’s Top Youth Volunteers Announced for 2016 Pramerica Spirit of Community Awards

Leave a comment

February 3, 2016 by johnston00


These inspiring young people from across the island of Ireland are supporting a broad range of charities and organisations through their selfless acts of volunteerism, from working to support mental health to raising funds for cancer research to helping the homeless,” said Caroline Faulkner, senior managing director, Pramerica Systems Ireland.

“The high calibre of entrants is exceptional in the program’s special 10th anniversary year, and we are honoured to recognise Ireland’s youth who are committed to volunteerism. We continue to be inspired by the extraordinary work these future young leaders are doing to make a difference in their local schools, communities and abroad, and they are a benchmark for other young people to strive towards.”

The post-primary students, who hail from all corners of Ireland, will be presented with €500 and an engraved silver medallion at the gala awards ceremony on 10th March at Lough Eske Castle Hotel & Spa, Donegal with special guest speaker Niall Breslin, Irish musician and former Westmeath Gaelic footballer and Leinster Rugby player. At the gala, two of the 20 students will be named All-Ireland Youth Volunteers of the Year, receiving €1,000 for a charity of their choice, a gold medallion, a crystal trophy for their school and an all-expense paid trip to the United States in May to participate in the Prudential Spirit of Community Awards ceremony.

The programme is run in partnership with The National Association of Principals and Deputy Principals (NAPD), The General Teaching Council for Northern Ireland (GTCNI), Scouting Ireland and Foróige.
The 20 finalists are;

Annagh McBreen, from Bailiebrough, Co. Cavan
Adrian McMyler, from Buncrana, Co. Donegal
Aoife Harrington, from Athy, Co. Kildare
Carla McErlean from Kilrea, Co. Derry
Chloe Austin from Lurgan, Co. Armagh
Cian O Grady, from Limerick
Curtis Johnston from Antrim town
David Boyce, a fifth year student from Askeaton, Co. Limerick
Emma Moriarty from Walkinstown, Dublin
Grace Ferrick from Curracloe, Enniscorthy
Grace Fitzpatrick from Belfast
Helen McFadden from Castlebar, Co Mayo
Katie Callaghan from Newtownabbey, Co Antrim.
Lauren McAreavey from Belfast
Nathan O’Kane from Antrim town
Rachel Hurley, from Ballyburden, Cork
Rosin McErlain from Portglenone, Ballymena
Róisín Neville from Cork
Sarah Connor from Ballybrit, Galway
Vanessa Donovan from Kevin Street, Dublin

For further information about the 2016 Pramerica Spirit of Community Awards, follow the Pramerica Spirit of Community Facebook page and Twitter feed @Pramerica_SOC or visit

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: